Pages

Search This Blog

Summer reads: if you like life stories

When it comes to books, I have a very particular taste. I mean, I can make myself read any genre of book, but the ones I really enjoy and can't put down are those that focus on someone's life story. This includes true stories/real people (I love memoirs), but also fictional accounts of lives that could, somewhere at some time, almost be real. People's lives are one of my favorite things to read about; they don't have to be showy or impressive or fast-paced. For me, a good book is one that makes me feel something. And all of the books I've read over the past month or so have done just that.




The Secret Life of Bees ✩ Sue Monk Kidd 

This may be my new favorite book, or at least one of them. It's a beautifully written story about a fourteen-year-old girl in 1964 who runs away from her troubled family life and discovers a unique place where she finally feels like she belongs; a bee farm. I won't say anything else because I don't want to give it away, but if you like coming of age stories, historical settings, and reading things that are written so beautifully they make you want to cry, this is a good one.

The Color Purple ✩ Alice Walker 

I just finished this book (yesterday), and I'm really glad I read it. Not only is it a classic that covers a lot of important issues of feminism and race, but there's also a lot of really powerful passages in there that may now be permanently imprinted in my mind. It's written in the form of diaries/ letters from the point of view of a poor, uneducated black woman, and it's all about the struggles she has fought through. It's one of those books everybody should read.


Re Jane ✩ Patricia Park  

I bought this book in an airport because I had nothing else to read. I knew absolutely nothing about it, because I bought it in like fifty seconds. It turned out to be pretty good and I'm glad I read it when I did. This is also a good coming-of-age story but for a slightly older demographic (post-college) than YA novels. It's about a girl who lives in a Korean neighborhood in New York, and feels stuck. She takes a live-in-nanny job with a really intellectual family in Brooklyn, which changes her whole life, and a whole lot of stuff happens that she didn't expect. It's also a modern-day version of Jane Eyre (which I didn't realize... again, I bought it on a whim), but in hindsight, makes sense.

 Not that Kind of Girl ✩ Lena Dunham 

I already said that I like books that make me feel things, and for this one, that thing was laughter. Lena Dunham is pretty darn funny, but you already knew that. This isn't the first time I've read this book, but I only brought two books me to Oklahoma this summer, so I was running out of material. This book is a collection of essays about Lena Dunham's awkard, cringe-worthy, witty, and exciting life. If you're a seventeen to twenty-something year-old girl/woman, I'd highly recommend.

 



15 comments

  1. Not That Kind of Girl is in my list to read because so many have said it's a great read and a funny one too. The only problem for me is to find time to read.... :-(

    Shireen | Reflection of Sanity

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I totally get that. This summer was rare for me because I actually had some time!

      Delete
  2. i've been wanting to read the color purple for the longest time! it sounds like an amazing book. i'll add the secret life of bee to my list just because you described it in a very interesting way ;)

    xx http://tanaditya.co.vu

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've never read any of that list but I've seen The Secret Life of Bees movie :D
    xx

    Mia | my-world-vibes.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ah I haven't seen the movie, I'll have to watch it!

      Delete
  4. amazing!

    NEW BLOG ! please follow me : YOUNG BLOG

    ReplyDelete
  5. Gonna have to check out the secret life of bees, it sounds so intriguing! Thanks for sharing, always love seeing what others are reading!

    Dana
    Fashion Dew // Bloglovin'


    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad you found it helpful! I know, I always love getting new book ideas.

      Delete
  6. I've read 'Not That Kind of Girl' and I really enjoyed the edginess of it :)

    Rosy | Sparkles of Light Blog

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, edgy & funny! Thanks for reading, Rosy!

      Delete
  7. I've never read any of these books, but I would love to read The Color Purple and The Secret Life of Bees! They sound so interesting! I also love the kind of books that make you feel something, usually I am all about mystery books, but these caught all my attention, I'm really putting them on my list :)

    Cy | Dulce de Mango

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay I'm glad you found it helpful! Ooh I also love mystery books, too! Thanks for reading, Cy!

      Delete
  8. The Color Purple is such an incredibly beautiful book. It has some of my favorite quotes of all time because every word is lovely, resounding, and soft all at the same time.

    aroseisinbloom.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete

Blog Archive

Follow by email

Social

Follow

Pinterest

About me

About me

About me
I’m a 19-year old college student who’s still very much “in bluhm” (heh) but I’m figuring it out as I go, laptop in hand.
Copyright @ julia in bluhm . Blog Design by KotrynaBassDesign